WHAT SHOULD I BE DOING INSTEAD OF THIS?
 
 

Mine All Mine (Review)

Adam Davies (Riverhead Trade)

0 Comments · Wednesday, August 20, 2008
True to style, Adam Davies (author of "The Frog Prince" and "Goodbye Lemon") has penned another masterfully precise depiction of the guy who can't win for losing. This time it's poor Otto Starks, whose life these days sadly resembles a "Choose Your Own Adventure" book gone dreadfully wrong.  

Still Alive (Review)

Herbert Gold (Arcade)

0 Comments · Wednesday, August 20, 2008
Herbert Gold is a Buckeye, born and raised in the Cleveland area, but he's lived in California for many years and is one of the last of the San Francisco beatniks. This memoir on his life is smart, crisp and feisty. Perhaps he's a bit all over the place, but that's part of the fun.   

The Prosecution of George W. Bush for Murder (Review)

Vincent Bugliosi (Perseus Publishing)

0 Comments · Wednesday, October 8, 2008
Vincent Bugliosi's thesis is that President Bush should be tried for conspiracy to commit murder over his misstatements (lies, in Bugliosi's eyes) that created the pretext for the 2003 Iraq invasion.  

American Wife (Review)

Curtis Sittenfeld (Random House)

0 Comments · Wednesday, October 8, 2008
Earlier this year, I went to my cousin's wedding. It was a seriously Republican crowd. The only Democrat I met all weekend used to babysit the Bush twins. At a bridal luncheon given by a friend of the family well into her sixties, I was surprised to find a copy of Cincinnati native Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep. I was even more surprised to hear the hostess had read and enjoyed it.   

The Good Thief (Review)

Hannah Tinti (Random House)

0 Comments · Tuesday, December 23, 2008
Adolescent Ren has little at the start of the Good Thief: a stump in place of his hand, a first name but no last, a question mark in place of his past and an uncertain future. Orphaned as an infant, Ren's only family are the other lost boys at Saint Anthony's monastery.  

Old Masters, New World (Review)

Cynthia Saltzman (Viking)

0 Comments · Tuesday, December 23, 2008
We go to our American art museums and dutifully pass the Old Masters' paintings, nonchalant about them being on display here rather than Italy, Spain, Germany, England, France, Netherlands or the other European countries where those great painters lived centuries ago.   

The Dart League King (Review)

Keith Lee Morris (Tin House Book)

0 Comments · Wednesday, January 7, 2009
Keith Lee Morris' second book takes place entirely at a championship darts match on a single night in Idaho in June of 2007. Surprisingly for such a narrowly focused work, it's as compelling a novel as I've read all year.  

The Best of Sexology (Review)

Craig Yoe, Editor (Running Press)

0 Comments · Wednesday, January 7, 2009
Founded in 1933 by Hugo Gernsback, 'Sexology' is said to be the first sex-related magazine to achieve widespread (relatively speaking) circulation in the United States. Not familiar? You're not alone.  

0|2
 
Close
Close
Close